×
Lessons

All Reviews

Listing of reviews and testimonials

All Reviews

Note: Reviews mentioning a previous instructor have been removed at his request.

William Hendricks – Oct 2021  Lessons – Google  5 stars
The entire process was handled very well. From the initial sign up for the course all the way through the final de-briefing: it was all professionally done. The Instructor was friendly but at the same time very serious when it came to the parts that required seriousness. He was very understanding but likewise, at the same time very demanding – which was great. A fully knowledgeable person on all points of the course.

Jody Reyes  Lessons – Oct 2021  Lessons – Google  5 stars
Great time on the water with Captain Carl. This was my wife & my’s first sailing lesson, and we went from absolute noobs to acing our certification exams. We went in mid-September which was HOT on Lake Travis, but hey, what can you do? Carl is extremely knowledgeable and a lifelong sailor. Highly recommend this course.

Zack Bartlett   – Oct 2021  Lessons – Google  5 stars
I recently took my ASA103 with Captain Tim and I can honestly say he’s the best instructor I’ve ever worked with. Great guy and supremely knowledgeable. Once you reach the 103 level there can be a bit more stress and Tim does a great job of ensuring you know the ropes while also having a great time and learning a TON of new skills in a short amount of time. I plan on staying with Outbound Sailing for my 104 in the Caribbean and would recommend them for anyone in Austin looking to take the next step in their sailing journey!

Craig Vodnik   – Oct 2021  Lessons – Google  5 stars
Had a great time learning how to handle a 30 ft boat on Lake Travis with Kurt. ASA 101 complete and already signed up for the Pico boat training and ASA 103 classes with Outbound Sailing. Great communication about what was needed in advance: RTFM!

Michael Wharton – Sep 2021  Lessons – Google  5 stars
Tim was a fantastic instructor. My wife and I did the ASA 101 course over a weekend and are officially hooked. We finished a bit early on the second day and were able to learn some additional skills that aren’t necessarily in the curriculum as well.
Can’t wait to test our skills and log some hours on the water!

Kait Reynolds – Sep 2021  Lessons – Google  5 stars
I had never sailed or even been on a sailboat before, but Tim was patient and met me where I was with my skills. By the second day I could confidently tell you the basics of the boat, commands, and felt good to sail on my own to continue solidifying my skills. My only piece of advice is to really read the guidebook – you’ll get to spend more time on the water if you get through the book review quickly.

Diana Leite – Aug 2021  Lessons – Google  5 stars
I scheduled sailing lessons for me and my husband for April 2020, but we couldn’t make it because of the pandemic. Tim from Outbound Sailing let me reschedule the lessons for Summer 2021 with no additional fees and kept in touch throughout the entire process! My husband and I have never sailed before (although we had pulled some lines as passengers), and after the lesson, we feel ready to charter a small sailboat and put our knowledge to the test. We look forward to continuing our sailing education and adventures. Our instructor, John Thurston, is a real pro and a patient teacher. By the second day of lessons, my husband and I felt like we got the hang of sailing, but we knew John was there to get us out of trouble if we needed to. He was also really patient with all my questions.

Michael Wharton – Sep 2021  Lessons – Google  5 stars
Tim was a fantastic instructor. My wife and I did the ASA 101 course over a weekend and are officially hooked. We finished a bit early on the second day and were able to learn some additional skills that aren’t necessarily in the curriculum as well. Can’t wait to test our skills and log some hours on the water!

Kait Reynolds – Sep 2021  Lessons – Google  5 stars
I had never sailed or even been on a sailboat before, but Tim was patient and met me where I was with my skills. By the second day I could confidently tell you the basics of the boat, commands, and felt good to sail on my own to continue solidifying my skills. My only piece of advice is to really read the guidebook – you’ll get to spend more time on the water if you get through the book review quickly.

Diana Leite – Aug 2021  Lessons – Google  5 stars
I scheduled sailing lessons for me and my husband for April 2020, but we couldn’t make it because of the pandemic. Tim from Outbound Sailing let me reschedule the lessons for Summer 2021 with no additional fees and kept in touch throughout the entire process! My husband and I have never sailed before (although we had pulled some lines as passengers), and after the lesson, we feel ready to charter a small sailboat and put our knowledge to the test. We look forward to continuing our sailing education and adventures. Our instructor, John Thurston, is a real pro and a patient teacher. By the second day of lessons, my husband and I felt like we got the hang of sailing, but we knew John was there to get us out of trouble if we needed to. He was also really patient with all my questions.

Eric Lyons – Jul 2021  Lessons – Google  5 stars
Just finished ASA101 with Captain Kurt and got checked out on the Pico. I am brand new to sailing and both instructors were very knowledgeable, thorough and patient. I have also spoken with captain Tim several times and met him briefly on First Light, he has been very helpful. As well and being great sailors all three if these gentlemen are also very pleasant nice guys

 Amber Styers – Jul 2021  Lessons – Google  5 stars
Learned a ton! It was exciting and fun! We are definitely looking forward to getting more comfortable and taking Pico out! Thanks guys!!-Amber

Justin Shipley – Jun 2021  Lessons – Google  5 stars
We had a great time taking the first course with Karl. He was very thorough and extremely interesting. Honestly, I feel like we got way more than our monies worth. I’m excited to continue my sailing education with outbound sailing.

Madeline Kilburn – May 2021  Lessons – Google  5 stars
Super educational sailing lesson, the instructors are so knowledgeable and they were so lovely and helpful after I had left something behind on a boat!

Jason Lifsey – May 2021  Lessons – Google  5 stars
Received my ASA 101 certification through Outbound Sailing and the entire experience was fun and stress free. The owner Tim was very communicative, professional, and accommodating. Karl was a great instructor and imparted to me a wealth of information about sailing.

Steven Ross – Mar 2021  Lessons – Google  5 stars
My ASA 101 experience was great. Captain Karl was a patient instructor and I learned so much. Highly recommended!

Eric Zimmerman – Mar 2021  Lessons – Google  5 stars
We thoroughly enjoyed our class with Outbound Sailing! Neither my wife nor I had ever sailed before and did not know what to expect. Captain Karl took the time needed to put us at ease and answer any questions we had. By the end of the first day we were comfortably moving about on board and operating under sail. Day two had us spending most of the day on the water with little supervision after completing the written test. I think its safe to say that we have caught the sailing bug and are looking forward to getting more hours out on the water. Booking the courses was simple and communication about what to expect was clear and concise. Thank you Outbound Sailing!

Jeff Kennedy – Feb 2021  Lessons – Google  5 stars
I took the 101 class and I’m very happy with my experience. I got exactly what I was expecting, which was a thorough introduction to sailing. These guys did a great job, and I appreciate it!

Ty Phi – Feb 2021  Lessons – Google  5 stars
Thank you Tim! Your expertise and love of teaching is what made this course so enjoyable. I’ll be seeing you soon for 103!!

Elizabeth Preston – Jan 2021  Lessons – Google  5 stars
I did not know what to expect when I signed up for the actual 101 class. I had sailed smaller boats before for many years and wondered how different it might be. Our class was aboard a Hunter 28.5 with a wheel, which is a larger boat than some classes offer. This boat is exactly the type of boat that I ultimately want to sail, so being able to learn on that boat was INVALUABLE!! Getting over my muscle memory of the tiller to transitioning to the wheel was not easy, but I overcame and got into the groove.
Captain Tim was a WONDERFUL instructor. He was not only incredibly knowledgeable and patient, but was funny and a pleasure to sail with. He also pushed us out of our comfort zone and didn’t let us slack off. He was very complimentary when we did things right and didn’t freak out when we did it wrong, except some strong warnings for me when I was about to sever my fingers for not I holding the jibsail correctly! It was SUPER FUN and I can’t wait to take ASA 103! Thank you!

Grant DeVuyst – Nov 2020  Lessons – Google  5 stars
We spent a weekend going through the ASA 101 course with Tim. This was an incredible experience that went above and beyond our expectations. Tim is an amazing instructor who made us feel comfortable through the seemingly daunting task of our first attempt at piloting a sailboat. We will certainly be back!

Alex Shows – Nov 2020  Lessons – Google  5 stars
Tim is an incredible instructor and made my ASA 101 course informative and entertaining! I’ll be back for ASA 103.

 Robert Williams – Oct 2020  Lessons – Google  5 stars
Tim is a great instructor. Super knowledgeable and patient with us novices. Thanks for a terrific experience!

Travis Martin – Oct 2020  Lessons – Google  5 stars
Had an amazing experience with Tim @ Outbound Sailing and am going to take the next course 103 with them.

Dan Ruble – Oct 2020  Lessons – Google  5 stars
There is always some element of luck with weather-dependent activities, but I could not have had a more perfect experience completing ASA 101 with Captain Tim. I had an AWESOME time! It was an excellent and well-taught course, both the classroom sessions and the on-water sailing. I can’t wait for a chance to sign up for ASA 103!

Olivia Kirk – Oct 2020  Lessons – Google  5 stars
Capt. Tim was an excellent instructor for ASA101. I felt safe and that I genuinely learned the basic skills needed to sail on my own. The boats are in great condition, clean, and tidy. I took the course during July of 2020 and there were …More

Ben Bade – Oct 2020  Lessons – Google  5 stars
Great experience.. already signed up for another class. Would highly recommend the team at Outbound Sailing!

Joel Rosinbum – Oct 2020  Lessons – Google  5 stars
I had an amazing time learning to sail with Tim. I highly recommend him for anyone who wants to learn to sail.

Bob Zachary – 2/11/20 – Lessons   Google (5 stars)
I just completed the Navigation course (ASA 105) with Tim and could not have had a better overall experience. This is a demanding and difficult course but Tim was there to help illustrate and explain things every step of the way. Kuddos to Tim and Outbound Sailing for doing such an excellent and thoroughly professional job!

Mike Olsen – 10/27/19 – Lessons   Google, Yelp, Facebook (5 stars)
“I recently got the bug to learn how to sail and did some research to find the best place to do so on Lake Travis. The reviews led me to Outbound Sailing and I must say it was even better than I expected. I took the 101 with a friend last month with Tim and really learned more than I thought I would about sailing. His years of experience, kind and funny personality, and the equipment all combine to make an outstanding experience. We did not have good enough wind to finish the …2nd day on the water so Tim scheduled us for this last weekend at no additional cost. I love his philosophy that he just wants to make people into good sailors who will enjoy the sport – I feel that some places would just say “”tough luck”” if the weather didn’t cooperate… Looking forward to taking the next classes and growing my knowledge and experience in the sailing world. BVI and Belize, I’ll be there before you know it to charter a sailboat with friends and family.”

Chris Copeland – 10/26/19 – Lessons   Google, Yelp, Facebook (5 stars)
“I had a great time sailing” …yeah, I’ve heard that before. The sailing 101 class was way more than what that cliché statement captures. This was an eye-opening experience and the lessons just completely opened a whole new world for me! The entire experience was epic, starting with going to the marina, meeting our captain, Tim; aka “nerves of steel”. Heck even the classroom was on a sailboat! I am a structural engineer and I have owned several boats in the past including… a 51-foot boat, I thought I was knowledgeable…. WRONG! I realized that I really did not know ANYTHING! I should have taken this class prior to even getting a power boat. Heck I should have signed my kids up for this class as it will provide life lessons for them that they won’t be able to get anywhere else. I learned things I never even thought about, regarding untying the boat, reversing, motoring, setting the sails, tacking, jibing, heeling over, more tacking, more jibing until I was exhausted. Finally, packing everything up correctly, wrapping up the lines, tying things off. I was taught that there is a proper order for every single movement that you make on the boat. There is a right way and wrong way to even get on board! Outbound Sailing’s boats are very nice and very clean. Right when I walked up I could see the tidy knots, and lines that were wrapped. The membership process is cool which allows me to practice on sailboats without having to own a sailboat. I plan on practicing on their little boat Pico and working my way up to the larger boats. I have already signed up for the next class and can’t wait to work my way up where we go as a class to the Caribbean! The class only has 1 other student, so I got to do every part of the crew jobs. I can’t say enough about the experience, you just must sign up and experience it for yourself!!

Jamie LAF – 10/24/19 – No services provided   Google, Yelp, Facebook (1 star)
If I could leave a 0 I would. Tim was so incredibly rude to me I would never work with these people under any circumstances.
Note: she wanted me to falsify ASA records for her boss. Maybe I was a bit rude.

 Nautical Monkey – 9/30/19 – Lessons   Google (5 stars)
Tim was very thorough and extremely knowledgeable – highly recommended. Can’t wait to do 103!

Roy Shi – 9/13/19 – Lessons   Google (5 stars)
I just finished taking ASA 101 with Tim and it was an absolutely fantastic experience. I came in with zero experience but Tim’s excellent instruction made that a non-issue. Tim has a wealth of knowledge, is happy to share it in a delightful manner, and is able to make the material both enjoyable and applicable. I cannot recommend Outbound Sailing enough for anyone who is curious about sailing. I will be coming back to take more lessons with Outbound Sailing because I know that it will be time and effort well spent.

Adrian Schmitz – 8/1/19 – Lessons   Google (5 stars)
Tim is an excellent instructor. He’s knowledgeable, detail-oriented, patient, and an all-around cool guy. Highly recommended!

Richard Collins – 7/29/19 – Lessons   Google (5 stars)
Tim is a very knowledgeable and capable instructor. He brings a lot of good and positive energy to his lessons. He has been very available and easy to approach and communicate with. He’ll challenge you without making you feel pushed. I highly recommend him and his courses

Matt Anders – 4/11/19 – Lessons   Google (5 stars)
Just completed my ASA 104 with Tim on Lake Travis. Was an amazing experience. Also the weather couldn’t have been better wind wise. Highly recommend Outbound sailing.

Fred Peterson – 3/26/19 – Lessons   Google (5 stars)
I could not have hoped for a better teacher than Tim Taylor at Outbound Sailing.

Glen Elliott – 10/4/18 – Lessons   Yelp  (5 stars)
I have just finished my ASA101 class and absolutely loved it! Tim is a knowledgeable, patient, funny teacher and our time on the water with him went way too quickly. I had some background in sailing but also had many gaps in my abilities. Tim smoothly and methodically covered all the missing pieces in my skill-set. I’m looking forward to the ASA103 Class in a week and a half!

 Krista Payne – 10/1/18 – Lessons   Google (5 stars)
We had an amazing time learning to sail with Tim! We are so excited about our adventures to come and have already signed up for ASA 103. Tim was a great teacher: knowledgable, patient, and experienced. We feel so lucky to have chosen Outbound Sailing and had the opportunity to learn the basics from Tim.

Chris Huvelle – 8/27/18 – Lessons   Google, Yelp (5 stars)
What an amazing experience we had with Tim and Outbound Sailing last weekend! It was an absolute pleasure being on this amazing boat that had exactly all we needed. Tim went above and beyond to make sure we had a fantastic time, including letting us take part in manning the boat and dropping us off for swims along the way. Sailing with him really made our vacation weekend and I would highly recommend this package to anyone!

Joe Fulwiler – 7/24/18 – Lessons   Google (5 stars)
Wonderful experience. I can’t imagine how a class could be any more laid back and fun while being extremely informative. We learned a ton, and had a great time!

Richard Lee – 6/17/18 – Lessons   Google (5 stars)
My brother Ryan and I had a great time learning to sail (ASA 101) with Captain Tim. He was accommodating and made our time on the water an enjoyable experience. We will be scheduling another 2 day session as soon as possible. Thank you Tim.

Teresa Evan – 5/8/18 – Lessons   Google (5 stars)
I took ASA 103 recently and had an outstanding experience on Lake Travis with Outbound Sailing. Tim Taylor is an excellent instructor. He explains and demonstates the concepts well and puts the learner at ease. I highly recommend him.

Brandye Perkins-Grote – 2/4/18 – Lessons  Facebook (5 stars)
My hubby and I have taken several classes with Tim … we have been so pleased with our experience. Tim is super Professional, safe, fun, and a great teacher. We even went to the Caribbean with him and his crew for a week long sailing school, we had an amazing trip, got 2 certifications and learned so many useful tips. We cannot recommend Outbound Sailing enough.

Flint Smith – 1/21/18 – Lessons   Google (5 stars)
WOW! Outbound Sailing is awesome! Tim is absolutely one of the best instructors. He helps you understand every concept and makes sure that you are comfortable. His joy for sailing is contagious. You will love this course.

Samantha C. – 8/6/17 – Charter   Google, Yelp (5 stars)
We used outbound sailing for a girls weekend in Austin.It was the highlight of the weekend! Outbound sailing has such well kept boats and captain Tim was amazing at catering our sail to our needs. Would highly recommend them!!!

Thomas Zavaleta – 3/15/17  Posted on Facebook
Oh – Did I mention how great an instructor Tim Taylor is at outbound sailing in Austin? I came our feeling very prepared thanks to him. I can hear him now “Thomas the clew is rising”

Thomas Zavaleta – 12/4/16 – Lessons   Google, Facebook (5 stars)
Tim is an amazing instructor who makes a personal connection. It clearly comes across how much he cares about sailing, the students and how and what we learn. Having taken 3 courses from him I don’t look on them as classes but a new world that Tim has shepherded me into.

Tommy Coleman – 11/28/2016   Caribbean Adventure Learning     Yelp, Facebook   (5 stars)
I have taken ASA 101, 103 and 104.  For 104 my wife and I went on one of Tim’s Sailing/Training vacation and it was phenomenal.  Tim is so knowledgeable, patient and commanding (at the right times).  We all went to the BVI, UVI and Puerto Rico and learned a ton.  Highly recommend taking 101 or training’s with Tim. Could not hope to find a better experience.

 Kendra B. – 11/17/2016   Caribbean Adventure Learning    Yelp, Facebook   (5 stars)
I just returned from Outbound Sailing’s November Adventure Learning trip to the Virgin Islands and had the absolute best experience! I wasn’t taking a certification course, but 3 men on the trip were and I was able to watch them learn so much and gain a lot of sailing knowledge and experience, while at the same time having an amazing time! We were able to explore 8 islands in 9 days, doing some long passages and also stopping to snorkel, eat ashore, and explore the beautiful British, Spanish, and US Virgin Islands. Tim is an amazing person and incredible sailing instructor – we really had a great time with him. Would highly recommend this trip to anyone interested in learning to sail or just interested in being around it and going along to support their significant other! AMAZING experience, thanks so much to Tim for all that he does!!

Kerry Gosler – 10/29/16 – Lessons   Facebook (5 stars)
Captain is an amazing guy – so much fun – took the evening cruise and he knew just where to take you for the best sunsets

Maria Nina Lacson – 9/6/16 – Lessons   Google (5 stars)
“I was told it was “”too late”” to learn sailing because I didn’t start young. But after only two days of working with Captain Tim for my ASA 101, not only did I learn how to sail but also–by day two–I sailed by myself! (Tacking, jibing and even docking). Captain Tim is an outstanding instructor. Studying with him gave me the confidence to pursue sailing. I plan to continue taking lessons with him for my ASA 103 and ASA 104. I highly recommend Outbound Sailing and Captain Tim for those who have always wanted to sail.”

Diana Higgins – 8/6/16 – Lessons   Google (5 stars)
I have had a lifelong dream to sail but was always intimidated by the scope of learning as a beginner. Tim at Outbound made the experience not only stress free but full of laughs. We learned all of the requirements in the ASA 101 course as well as additional skills including docking and pulling out of the dock and single handing the helm and sails. Both of us in the class couldn’t wipe our smiles off. If you have wanted to do this…this is the school!

Jacki Bauer – 8/6/16 – Lessons   Google (5 stars)
Tim is a great sailing instructor. I was a sailing newb until I took two courses in the last month. We covered a huge amount of material in each course but I never felt overwhelmed. Tim’s explanations are clear and he’s great at showing you how to do something, then giving you the confidence to try it yourself. If you are interested in learning to sail and getting your ASA certifications I highly recommend Outbound Sailing!

Celeste Richardson – 7/20/2016 – Lessons   Facebook  (5 stars)
Tim is an amazing instructor. I was excited but a bit anxious since I’ve never sailed before. He was very knowledgeable and patient while making our time on the water fun. We have now completed two courses with him and look forward to learning more from him.

Parker R. – 7/4/2016 – Lessons   Yelp  (5 stars)
“Wow! What a great experience! My wife and I have always wanted to learn how to sail and instead of starting with tiny boats and teaching ourselves, we decided to take the leap and learn how to sail a real boat right, the first time. After some internet searching and looking at reviews online, for not only Texas but around the country, we decided to use Tim from Outbound Sailing. The small class approach (usually only 2 people at a time) really suited our approach to things, not to mention more time on each skill! Going into sailing with very limited knowledge can be a little overwhelming. Tim made it very relaxed, enjoyable, and most of all fun! We took both the ASA 101 and ASA 103 and have come away feeling very confident in our ability to safely sail a 30+ ft. sailboat together or singlehanded. If you are thinking about learning how to sail either to  eventually do a charter in some other country or just for the new skill set, I can’t recommend Tim more. As soon as our schedule allows we will be back to take ASA 104 and further our knowledge. Thanks Tim!”

Liz H – 4/24/2016 – Charter    Yelp  (5 stars)
Loved our experience with Captain Tim. He took my husband and I out for a sunset sail on our wedding anniversary. The boat was immaculate and Tim was charming and showed us a great time. We were also lucky that the weather was perfect and it was just so peaceful on Lake Travis. Will plan on sailing with Captain Tim again!

Becca Christensen –  3/26/16 – Lessons   Facebook  (5 stars)
Tim is so wonderful! He’s so patient and loves sharing his sailing knowledge. We have enjoyed our courses so far and look forward to more!

Laura W – 3/20/2016 – Charter    Yelp  (5 stars)
My husband and I sailed with Captain Tim yesterday afternoon.  It was such a beautiful experience.  The boat was clean and well maintained.  Right away we felt safe and in good hands.  He has sailed all through Florida and the Caribbean so his stories and experience are very interesting.  We had a particularly windy sail so it was really fun when he tacked the sails.  He took us on a 2 hour ride and pointed out the different areas and homes around the lake.  We will definitely be back again for another sail in April.  Thanks Tim!!

Ernest N – 1/22/16 – Lessons   email
I’m back from my great adventure, and that trip was probably the most fun and most difficult I have had in a while. Handling that 46′ Catamaran would have been impossible without your training. Everything we studied and practiced I must have encountered plus a few extras. We had only 1 Crew Overboard, and the rescue operations went great. It was my wife, she fell off the back of the boat, but I had the boat turned around and lassoed her within 60 seconds with a mooring rope.  She even hollered out “Crew Overboard” after falling into the water.

Kara F – 10/19/2015 – Lessons    Yelp  (5 stars)
“I just completed ASA 101 (Basic Keelboat Sailing) Certification course and I could not have had a better experience. My boyfriend and I have dreams of traveling the world on a sailboat, but I had zero experience sailing and he had some experience as a kid but no formal training. We thought we might have to go to the coast for proper lessons, but we found good reviews of Tim Taylor / Outbound Sailing online and I’m so glad we did. From the beginning, you can tell that Tim cares about offering quality, personal instruction to meet the needs of whatever your goals might be. There is an initial meeting where you are introduced to Tim and the boats. If you like what you see, you pay a deposit and take home the ASA 101 book to read and study before your lessons (which you should do because it accelerates your lesson if you are already familiar with the basics – at least in theory). The ASA 101 course is two full days that comprise of talking over the book/theory, practical instruction with knots, getting the boat ready and put away, handling the boat under power, and plenty of sailing. I highly appreciated Tim’s instruction style. It is calm, encouraging, personable and humorous. It’s never intimidating, demeaning or heavy-handed. As a couple, my boyfriend and I were treated equally and got equal time at the helm, as crew on the lines, and practicing each skill such as raising the mainsail or maneuvering the boat back into the slip. Our comments and questions were always welcome. Insider’s tip: watch out for Slim, the grog-loving PFD. I’m looking forward to going back for ASA 103 and beyond. Thanks for a great first course, Tim!”

Perla Caston – 9/7/15 – Charter   Facebook   (5 stars)
Thank you Tim for giving us a wonderful sunset sail. We couldn’t have ended the trip on a better note.

Elizabeth Smith Theis – 9/6/15 – Charter   Facebook   (5 stars)
Tim was amazing! It was a great and relaxing time. Perfect way to end our trip. Loved it and highly recommend it.

Payam Sarabi  –  7/3/2015 – Lessons   Yelp   (5 stars)
I highly recommend private lessons with Tim over any other ASA program in the area after researching many alternates – his boats are beautiful and he is a fantastic teacher at all levels. with this program you start on a nimble 28′ mid sized boat and finish your classes on a 31′. I have to date done Asa 101 and 103 with 104 next up and my confidence as well as proficiency at sailing has improved many fold. Outbound also offers a growing fleet of crazy well kept boats in their membership fleet which also seems like a great set up (I’m not a member yet but may be after my classes). In short I highly recommend anyone to outbound sailing and you will really enjoy working with Tim!

Don E. – 6/14/15 – Lessons   email
Hello Tim, You taught me well.  It was a tight fit (Med moor) but it went off without a hitch.  Alex did the anchor and we backed right in. We are in Finikas Harbor on Siros.

Chris L – 4/9/2015 – Lessons   Yelp   (5 stars)
“Tim Taylor just provided me with ASA 101, 103 and 104 instruction and testing.  It was a fantastic experience.  Not only does Tim have a way of teaching that simplifies and greatly emphasis on the real world of sailing, but he does so in a really positive manner that makes one want to learn more and excel at all aspects of sailing.  From man overboard drills to tacking and jybing to knot tying, Tim’s experience and years spent on boats comes through in a delightful way.   Chris”

Kellie Conrad – 1/22/15 – Member   email
I would highly recommend Outbond Sailing Services. It is the perfect way to learn to sail and gain valuable experience without all of the hassle. Tim does a wonderful job of handling all the headache so you can enjoy the best parts of hitting the open waters. The boat is impeccably taken care of and always ready to sail away. This is the best value you can get. If you were to just rent a boat for 4 hours, you would be paying more than you do for an entire month.

Joshua Pierce – 10/19/14 – Member   email
Outbound Sailing has been a boon to me personally and professionally since I joined in 2012.  The boats are meticulously managed and always ready for me to go sailing with friends, colleagues or business partners. Outbound Sailing makes having a boat both easy and professional.  The boats are always clean and easy to reserve while professional management keeps them safe and well-maintained.

Patrick Z – 9/9/2014 – Lessons   Yelp   (5 stars)
My wife and I were looking for a location in the San Antonio / Austin area to take a basic sailing course certified through the American Sailing Association (ASA).  We received the recommendation to seek out Tim Taylor with Outbound Sailing.  After a two day course, where we both met all of ASA Keelboard 101 standards, I can tell you that Tim is simply a great instructor.  He has the unique ability to clearly define reachable goals, walk the student through a process, talk them through the execution, and then let them take full control with confidence.  Within two days, both my wife and I were able to handle all aspects of sailing a mid-size sailboat with confidence and ease.  Tim’s easy going personality and clear instruction under the ASA lesson plans had us tacking, jibing, trimming sails, and managing the sailboat quickly and without anxiety.  I would highly recommend him to anyone seeking the same level of instruction through ASA.

 Brendon Jones – 6/15/14 – Lessons   Facebook   (5 stars)

Julz H – 9/30/2013 – Charter   Yelp   (5 stars)
“My husband and I decided on a sunset sailing cruise for one of our many 9th anniversary treats.  It was quite fantastic!  Tim is not only a fantastic captain, but he is a gracious host and we couldn’t have had a more enjoyable time.  My husband grew up sailing, so he was quite excited to assist and take the helm.  We were blessed with beautiful weather and an incredible sunset.  We look forward to our next voyage!!  Thanx Tim!!! ~Julz & Jake”

Tom B – 5/20/2012 – Big Brothers/Big Sisters   Yelp   (5 stars)
“Tim Taylor from Outbound Sailing took 4 of us out Sailing earlier today and he didn’t make a dime on the whole outing. You see, Outbound Sailing takes volunteers at Big Brothers Big Sisters out for Sailing adventures and they don’t ask for anything in return.  And as a matter of fact, due to bad weather, Tim had to reschedule our trip 4 or 5 times and every single time he was cheerful and easy to work with. We had a great day of Sailing lessons, swimming and sunshine and writing this review is the least I could do.  Highly recommend these guys for any sort of outing you might come up with and if you have kids that you want to introduce to Sailing…  Well, they have a lot of experience!”